Open panel

Efstathios (Stathis) Michaelides

Stathis Michaelides engineering-tcu1
W.A. "Tex" Moncrief Jr. Founding Chair of Engineering Direct: 817.257.6226
BA Oxford University MS, Ph.D. Brown University
Download Vita


Professor Stathis Michaelides is currently the Tex Moncrief Chair of Engineering at Texas Christian University (TCU). Prior to this he was chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the University of Texas at San Antonio, where he also held the Robert F. McDermott Chair in Engineering and was the Founder and Director of the NSF-supported Center on Simulation, Visualization and Real Time Computing (SiViRT).  In the past he was the Founding Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Energy Engineering at the University of North Texas (2006-2007); the Leo S.Weil Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Tulane University (1998-2007); Director of the South-Central Center of the National Institute for Global Environmental Change (2002-2007); Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research in the School of Engineering at Tulane University (1992-2003); Head of the Mechanical Engineering Department at Tulane (1990-1992).  Between 1980 and 1989 he was on the faculty of the University of Delaware, where he also served as Acting Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department (1985-1987).

Professor Michaelides holds a B.A. degree (honors) from Oxford University and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Brown University. He was awarded an honorary M.A. degree from Oxford University (1983); the Casberg and Schillizzi Scholarships at St. Johns College, Oxford; the student chapter ASME/Phi,Beta,Tau excellence in teaching award (1991 and 2001); the Lee H. Johnson award for teaching excellence (1995); a Senior Fulbright Fellowship (1997); the ASME Freeman Scholar award (2002); the Outstanding Researcher award at Tulane (2003); the ASME Outstanding Service award (2007); the ASME Fluids engineering award (2014); and the ASME 90th Anniversary of FED Medal, 2016.

Professor Michaelides was a member of the executive committee of the Fluids Engineering Division of the ASME (2002-08) and served as chair of the Division in 2005-2006. Prior to this he has served as chair (1996-1998) of the Multiphase Flow Technical Committee. He served as the President of the ASEE Gulf-South Region (1992-93). He chaired the 4th International Conference on Multiphase Flows (New Orleans May 27 to June 1, 2001) and was the vice-chair of the 5th International Conference on Multiphase Flows, (Yokohama, Japan May 2004).  He has published more than 140 journal papers and has contributed more than 240 papers and presentations in national and international conferences. He has also authored six books on: a) Particles, Bubbles and Drops – their motion and heat transfer (World Scientific, 2006); b) Alternative Energy Sources (Springer 2012); c) Heat and Mass Transfer in Particulate Suspensions (Springer 2013); and d) Thermodynamic and Transport Properties of Nanofluids (Springer 2014); Multiphase Flow Handbook, 2nd Edition (CRC Press); Energy, the Environment and Sustainability,(CRC Press).

Research Interests

  • Multiphase Flow
  • Particulate Heat Transfer
  • Nanofluids
  • Alternative Energy
  • Geothermal Energy